You can edit shared notes you have previously written from the Shared Notes page. Notes you have written should look something like this:
The green box with the pencil and checkbox is the edit button. Clicking this will allow you to change this message. You can change the text, upload a new attachment, or even change what category it is from. Do all this like you were adding a shared note.